Misery (And that’s sort of a pun)

This post offers two exciting things for you, dear reader. One: explanation; and two: an actual review for the first time since like five months ago.

Explanation first.

So don’t ask me why during this summer I read almost nothing I wasn’t assigned (E.g., The Scarlet Letter, and The Constitutional Convention.) Now those two I have thoughts about. I actually worked a fair amount, and I spent a lot of time with my friends. And obviously, summer reading.

summerreading

I also got obsessed with Criminal Minds. OBSESSED. I have a mere six episodes to work before I’ve seen them all to date. In addition to not reading/blogging, I didn’t update any of my poor fanfictions. Yeah, I write fanfiction. My penname is Wordwielder. One of these I plan to expand upon my fanfiction views in a post.

Also, my school decided to reprogram our internet inappropriate content blocking, so now my blog isn’t available to me during school hours. And these days I have ZERO free time. I took AP English, AP US History, Dual Enrollment Pre-Calculus, and Honors Chemistry, in addition to French IV and Newspaper. I’m The Royal New’s Online Editor-in-Chief for trnwired.org, so there’s another dedication to my time I take pretty seriously.  My life is get up, school, stay after for newspaper, homework, shower, go to sleep, repeat. The amount of homework I have is misery (Hahaha. There’s my little pun.)

So what I’m leading up to is that updates are going to be sporadic at best on here. I’m sorry. But here’s your consolation prize…

Misery, by Stephen King.

miserycover

I know, I know. Yet another King novel. This one’s been on my list forever.

The book opens with Paul Sheldon, an author famed for his Victorian-Era romance novels centered on Misery Chastain. Paul hates Misery, he hates everything he’s written about her, and so he’s just completed a new, entirely different book. Fast Cars is possibly his best book ever, he thinks. A little drunk and in a good mood, Paul decides to drive  to Los Angeles instead of flying from Boulder, Colorado, to his home in New York.  A terrible snowstorm hits Colorado, and Paul wrecks upside down into a ravine, shattering his legs and pelvis.

Enter Annie Wilkes, a former nurse and Paul’s “number #1 fan.” Annie pulls Paul from the car and takes him to her home in Sidewinder, Colorado- not the hospital. Paul wakes up days later somewhat stronger, especially due to the numbing influence of Novril, the narcotic Annie’s giving him for pain. Paul starts to suspect Annie is dangerous and mentally unbalanced when she begins to punish him for disagreeing with her by withholding his medication.

A shot from the 1990 movie- for which Kathy Bates won an Oscar in her portrayal as Annie Wilkes.

A shot from the 1990 movie- for which Kathy Bates won an Oscar in her portrayal as Annie Wilkes.

Annie, an avid Misery fan, has no idea when she picks up her new copy of Misery’s Child that Paul has killed Misery five pages from the end. When she reads Misery’s death, she screams at Paul and leaves the house narrowly before attacking him. She stays gone for over two days, leaving Paul without food, drink, or Novril. When she finally returns- Paul almost dead- she has a choice for Paul: destroy Fast Cars or lose his Novril. Paul resists, but eventually has to destroy the book in the face of crippling withdrawal pains. Annie’s next act is to set up a typewriter at the desk for him to write his next Misery novel- Misery’s Return, which she demands he write to bring Misery back to life.

Paul realizes the book is the only way he can stay alive long enough for people to start searching for him.  It’s his only chance to possibly survive. So Paul begins to write for a woman who is heavily unbalanced, who has killed nearly forty people (including her own father as a child), and who is prepared to keep and control her pet writer at all costs.

Lindsay’s Verdict:  Five stars. Well-written, terrifying in the best way, and one of my favorite King novels ever.

Author: Stephen King.

Pages: 310.

Genre: Psychological thriller, horror, suspense

Be a writer as well as reader and leave your thoughts!

